Working With The LWA

For some time now I have been looking into Voudoo and the possibility of working with the LWA [often also seen spelled as LOA]** for magickal purposes. I have also been reading on the Orisha of Santeria and Yoruban JuJu, which I feel are the same. JuJu being the originating religion in Africa and the others a blend of Latino or French cultures mixed in through the necessity and areas of development at the time.

veve_of_papa_legba

I found it appropriate to begin with Papa Legba, who is always called on first in Voudoo ceremonies. He is the old man of the crossroads and he guards the veil between us and the other LWA. You will never be able to contact or work with the LWA without the assistance of Legba.

I have been developing a relationship with Legba for some time now, giving him offerings of coffee, coins and candy as well as burning candles in his honor.  I have asked for nothing in return except for his graciousness in allowing contact with the other side. I have noticed only one difference since beginning this and I will continue to see if it is a direct result of this working or just coincidence. Legba is a bit of a trickster and can work in odd ways.

Here is a pic of his altar set up.

100-0004

Here are a couple of good links to read more about Voudoo and Santeria.

Voodoo and Santeria

Roots Without End – Mambo Racine’s Vodou Lessons

**I don’t know if it has to do with illiteracy since many of the peoples who carried on these religions could not read or write, but you will see many words spelled in various ways yet meaning the same thing. From the names of the LWA to the spelling of Voudoo itself, don’t be confused when you see this.

3 thoughts on “Working With The LWA”

  1. As always Naufragio, I’m proud of you. I see your love & dedication in every working you do and your altar is beautiful. I’ll say it again: you’re the most Magickal person I’ve ever met. You keep me on the straight path; I’d probably be a complete lunatic if it weren’t for you {twitch} {drool, twitch}

  2. You haven’t seen my travel altar yet either. LOL You would be so proud. I’m all ready for that road trip!!!!

  3. Your alter is lovely. It seems quite a few of us are feelign the urge to talk to Papa Legba lately, one way or another.

    And thank you for commenting on my blog. I only just realised I’ve been mixing you up with Nat. So sorry.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.